Controversy At Solheim Cup; USA and Europe Wage War On Each Other

solheim cup
Photo courtesy of Sky Sports coverage

Amidst one of the most controversial moments in Solheim Cup history, Europe took a commanding lead over the United States heading into the singles.

On the 17th hole in a tense battle between Charley Hull & Suzann Pettersen vs Alison Lee and Brittany Lincicome, the European duo were all square heading down the 17th hole when war all-but broke out.

Following a suspension of play due to bad light, Lee missed a putt on the 17th green before picking her ball up, under the assumption Europe had conceded. Hull was already walking towards the last hole when Petterson claimed Europe had not conceded the short putt. The match referee intervened and awarded Europe the hole.

The incident left Team USA with a massive deficit to overcome as Europe only need four more points to retain the Solheim Cup.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p3-Hu1uX01s

19-year-old Hull and 20-year-old Lee were in tears as heated discussions took place around the green. US Captain Juli Inkster was furious, claiming Pettersen had not been a good sport: “If that’s the way they want to play, let’s go.”

solheim cup

Commentator and Solheim Cup legend Dame Laura Davies said she was “disgusted” by Pettersen’s actions. Her fellow commentator, Nicole Castrale, was equally as appalled:

“Never mind what Suzann did, how about Carin Koch, Annika Sorenstam, Sophie Gustafson or Maria McBride. They all had the chance to make this right and none of them stepped up to the plate.