A cart-driving official got blasted by a tee shot at the Indian Open

S.S.P Chawrasia lapped the field at the Hero Indian Open. The Kolkata, India native, fired a final-round 71 and secured an impressive seven-stroke victory over Gavin Green. Very impressive stuff, to be sure.

Even more impressive than Chawrasia’s victory, however, was this official’s bizarre decision to roll through the landing area on the ninth hole while David Horsey was teeing off. The gentleman is just out for a Sunday drive in his convertible cart without a care in the world.

Presumably, the cart-driving official was either not paying attention or didn’t think Horsey could reach him. But he was wrong on both counts, as this video tweeted by the European Tour shows.

Sorry! It’s unclear what the official’s duties were, but the irony if he was a rules official is just too great. On the plus side, however, at least he’d be able to rule on the bizarre situation immediately, and Horsey wouldn’t need to summon an expert.

SEE ALSO: The USGA just announced the biggest rules change in golf history

Positively for Horsey, the ball’s unexpected entry into the official’s cart ensured it’d wind up in the fairway, as it looked like it could have kick into the rough. And even more positively for the official, the ball didn’t hit him on the fly. Had, it, we could have been presented with the even more absurd image of an official face down in the fairway beside his cart, golf ball at his side.

Englishman Horsey ultimately carded a final-round 72 and finished tied for eighth, 10 strokes behind Chawrasia.

Of course, a ball landing in an official’s cart is by no means the most ridiculous landing place. Consider Phil Mickelson playing from the beer tent…or just where Phil Mickelson ends up playing from in general. Here’s just one example of odd ball-landing locations, though: During the second round of the 2014-Tour Championship, Rory McIlroy’s tee shot landed in a spectator’s pocket.

SEE ALSO: This is THE best Phil Mickelson moment of all time