Matt Kuchar was at the WGC-HSBC Championship this weekend when he made an incredible ace during the Saturday round and was robbed of the reward.
— PGA TOUR (@PGATOUR) October 29, 2016
Unfortunately, he wasn’t able to receive the car that went along with it because of a stupid ruling. After the year Kuchar had, this goes under the category of first world problems, but that doesn’t mean he didn’t deserve to get the Cadillac.
According to the rule, the shot had to be at least 200 yards to win the car. The hole Kuch played was “only” 193 yards.
This was posted before anyone teed off for Round 3.
Matt Kuchar aced the 17th hole on Saturday. pic.twitter.com/haNqGcBL2j
— Matt Cochran (@PGATOURCochran) October 29, 2016
Kuchar’s caddie even noted the ruling before he tee’d off, but of course he still made the shot.
“Don’t worry about a hole-in-one today,” Wood joked with Kuchar before he hit his shot. “We don’t get the car.”
I think Kuch will be ok without the car, but it’s still a tease for anyone that makes an ace.