Losing Your Cool: Sergio Garcia Proves You Can Putt Without A Putter

Sergio Garcia looked like he was setting himself up for a big week at the Dell Technologies Championship when he shot 67 in Friday’s opening round. A second-round 73 really threw a wrench into those plans as the 2017 Masters champion had to begin to play catch-up on Sunday afternoon.

Sunday (not the final round) played like an Open Championship round with the combination of rain and cooler-than-fall temperatures. Even Phil Mickelson broke out the second glove to keep his paws warm out there in Boston.

Garcia was faced with a challenging uphill putt on the par-4 fourth hole. Through three rounds of play, this par-four has caused a certain level of stress for the players in the field. It is a very short hole which is very drivable if the green didn’t have a large bunker blocking the front of it. This forces players to go to the side of the hole where they are faced with a slightly up-hill pitch shot.

Instead of pitching up, Garcia decided to use his putter since his ball was in the shorter grass.

The Spaniard didn’t give his ball enough juice to reach the hole for a gimmie putt which resulted in him lashing out on his tool.

It would be a little more understandable if the ball had rolled back to Garcia and nested in an area close to its original spot. But the new Major champion just couldn’t keep his cool for not making a better putt in that situation. He would have to rule his putter ineligible and take it out of the bag.

That left him with one option: the three wood.

Ironically, he sinks this long putt to save the birdie he thought he was surely going to miss. Lashing out on equipment is not the smartest move in golf, especially the flat iron. Even though Garcia made this nice birdie putt, he would struggle on the greens the rest of the day using both his three wood and his driver as substitutes.

Garcia was not able to replace the putter with a new one during the round but will be able to before the beginning of the final round on Monday.

Image Source: ESPN

He would bogey four of the next five holes on the front nine. He also carded a bogey on 15 and a double bogey on 18 to end his miserable day on the dance floors. He is now T-51 on the leader board after a 4-over 75.

This isn’t the first time we have seen Garcia lose his cool in 2017. In a weird twist of irony, Garcia induced a self-inflicted shoulder injury while on the fourth hole of Royal Birkdale during this year’s Open Championship.

Just like Sunday, Garcia’s second shot didn’t pan out the way he thought it should have which resulted in him swinging his club at the bush….the bush won.

After the round, Sergio said he didn’t feel silly about this flare-up.

“No. Obviously, I’m not happy about it because I almost screwed up my British Open. Fortunately for me, I didn’t.” – Sergio Garcia.

The putter Garcia began using in the first three rounds of the Dell Technologies Championship was new to him so perhaps this is a sign that he needs to go back to his old one.